R-113 Page 1 of 1
No. R-113. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2020, 2021, and 2022
winners of the Spirit of the ADA Award.
Offered by: Representatives Marcotte of Coventry, Chase of Chester, Graning of
Jericho, Jerome of Brandon, Mulvaney-Stanak of Burlington, Nicoll of Ludlow, Page of
Newport City, Priestley of Bradford, Sammis of Castleton, White of Bethel, and Williams of Barre City Offered by: Senators Ingalls and Starr Whereas, the State of Vermont recognizes the general societal and workforce benefits of affording all Vermonters, including those with disabilities, equal economic opportunities regardless of age, color, gender, national origin, race, religion, or sexual orientation, and Whereas, the Governor’s Committee on the Employment of People with Disabilities annually honors organizations that strive to achieve this goal with the Spirit of the ADA
(Americans with Disabilities Act) Award, and Whereas, the criteria for receipt of this honor are “(1) creating an accessibility recruitment and hiring process, (2) [incorporating] on-the-job accommodations,
(3) [providing] accessible physical structures to ensure success for all employees, [and]
(4) [having] an overall employment strategy that includes hiring people with disabilities,”
and Whereas, the winners were, in 2020, Gardener’s Supply, Vermont Soap, Copeland Furniture, The Vermont Country Store, and The Alchemist Brewery; in 2021, SODEXO
at Northern Vermont University, the Town of Waterbury Department of Parks &
Recreation, Vermont Fiber Mill, Homegrown Scales, Ace Hardware in St. Albans,
Hannaford Supermarket in St. Albans, Andy’s Dandys, Main Street Graphics, the Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation staff at Allis and Elmore State Parks,
Killington Resort, the Springfield Medical Center, the City of Newport, and Price Chopper in Morrisville; and, in 2022, Accessible Web, 802 Toyota, Animal Doctor, Vermont Information Processing, Marble Valley Regional Transit (The Bus), and Equinox Golf Resort & Spa (the Benchmark Hospitality Group), and Whereas, representatives of many of the recent organizational winners of the Spirit of
the ADA Award are present in the State House today, now therefore be it Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:
That the General Assembly congratulates the 2020, 2021, and 2022 winners of the Spirit of the ADA Award, and be it further Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to
each of these Spirit of the ADA Award winners.
VT LEG #369650 v.1