A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2022–2023 University of Kansas women's basketball team on an
outstanding season and for winning the program's first Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT)
WHEREAS, On April 1, 2023, the University of Kansas women's basketball team completed
an outstanding season by winning the WNIT Championship; and
WHEREAS, The Jayhawks completed a perfect 6–0 run in the WNIT tournament by downing
Western Kentucky University (86–72), the University of Missouri (75–47), the University of
Nebraska (64–55), the University of Arkansas (78–64) and the University of Washington (61–36)
prior to the title win over Columbia University of the Ivy League (66–59); and
WHEREAS, Taiyanna Jackson was named the 2023 WNIT Most Valuable Player; and
WHEREAS, Taiyanna Jackson was joined on the WNIT All-Tournament team by her fellow
Jayhawk Zakiyah Franklin, along with Kaitlyn Davis, Dalayah Daniels, Allison Day and Abbey
Hsu; and
WHEREAS, The Jayhawks were represented on the 2022–2023 All-Big 12 women's basketball
team by the senior trio of Taiyanna Jackson, Zakiyah Franklin and Holly Kersgieter. The honors
featured Taiyanna Jackson and Zakiyah Franklin as All-Big 12 First Team selections, Holly
Kersgieter as an All-Big 12 honorable mention and Taiyanna Jackson as a member of the Big 12
All-Defensive Team. Taiyanna Jackson was a unanimous selection for both honors; and
WHEREAS, Brandon Schneider completed his eighth season at the helm of the Kansas
women's basketball program. Coach Schneider was the 2022 Big 12 Coach of the Year. Earlier in
his career, Coach Schneider had a highly successful 12-year stint at Emporia State, where he
guided the Lady Hornets to the 2010 NCAA Division II National Championship; and
WHEREAS, Thanks to the Jayhawks' strong performance during the regular season and the
hard work of the athletic department, the Jayhawks were selected to play all six of their WNIT
games in historic Allen Fieldhouse, including the championship game in front of 11,701 fans, the
largest crowd at Allen Fieldhouse for a women's basketball game since 2009: Now, therefore,
Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and
commend the University of Kansas women's basketball team for an outstanding season and
winning the WNIT Championship; and
Be it further resolved: That we recognize head coach Brandon Schneider, associate coach Terry
Nooner, assistant coach Morgan Paige, assistant coach Karyla Middlebrook, athletic director
Travis Goff, deputy athletic director and senior woman administrator Nicole Corcoran, University
of Kansas chancellor Doug Girod and every athlete and member of the team for a successful
2022–2023 season.
House Resolution No. 6025 was sponsored by Representatives Barbara Ballard and Fred Patton.
I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.